Overindulgence

Is that a real word? Hmmm. I think so. Overindulgence. Yup, spell-check doesn’t say no. Ok. So that’s what this post is about. Randomly.

 

Addiction for instance. I find the one leads to the other. You have to, at some point or some level, be addicted to something in order to then overindulge in it. Or just be really good at it, and get carried away, and overindulge. It’s like when you catch a whiff of something amazing so you keep sniffing until you get sick from it. Overindulging in a scent. Or get a feeling and just keep feeling it because it’s so good, until you get exhausted. So I don’t think overindulgence is only food and drink and drugs and such, I think it can exist on many planes. Even freedom or a hot bath can be good causes for such behaviour, and can lead to the dangerous effects of overindulgence.

Because whenever I get too much of something good I find that I either get; a hangover, a sore throat, a way bloated and stuffed feeling, pain all over, exhaustion etc. So when they say you can never get too much of a good thing, they’re lying, and don’t listen to them. Whoever they are.

Things I have overindulged in of late;

  • Alcohol (and mixing the drinks too, which is so much worse)
  • Smoking
  • Not eating
  • Love
  • Guilt
  • Sun
  • Thoughts
  • Flowers
  • Lack of sleep
  • Killing time
  • Worrying
  • Reading
  • Blogs

Wait a second blogs isn’t a word? How about blog’s? Blogs’? Bloggs? WTF! I’m doing something that doesn’t exist! That is so awesome! Like levitating or being invisible or something!

Anyways, overindulging can be depriving yourself of things too, (like eating or sleep) because then you are overindulging  in the lack of something. If that makes any sense at all.

Things I would like to be overindulging in right now;

  • Relaxation
  • Alone-time
  • Roller coasters
  • Fireworks
  • Italian food
  • Stars
  • Cleaning
  • Sleep

 

I have this crazy tendency to only be able to exist on one end of the spectrum at the one time. Either I have a lot of something or nothing at all. I like extremes, and I do not enjoy staying in the middle of the road. Though sometimes extremes can be really unhealthy. But I don’t care because we only live once.

I apologize for how weird this post looks and how random and ranty and irate it is. And short, too. Now what do you like to overindulge in/what are you currently overindulging in in your life?

4 thoughts on “Overindulgence

  1. Your post made me smile, laugh a little, and think a lot. I’m going think, a bit later, about what I overindulge in. (One of the things, off the bat, is procrastination. Can you tell?!)

    And re: invisibility – It DOES exist. I’m being invisible right now. Bet ya can’t see me! Don’t feel bad. No one else does either. And I wouldn’t expect you to know that invisibility is possible since I didn’t allow you to really not see me.

    FIREWORKS AND STARS! Yes! I would like to overindulge in those as well. *sighs and dreams*

    1. I am glad my post invoked some kind of emotions ^^ If what I write affect anyone that alone makes me happy! I checked out your blog, please keep me updated on the garden in a bag thing, since I am now shortly moving to an apartment with no garden so I will also have to find creative solutions such as that 🙂

    1. Is that because you squeezed the last bit of sunscreen out of the tube and can’t be bothered to get more? 😉 I checked out your blog and I absolutely loved it! I am fascinated by the fact that you have published a book, in my world that is a great status symbol. *i bow to thee*

Leave a Reply

