A little speck of dirt west of here

So this time I was thinking my excuse could be “there’s nothing to write about!” but then I realized there always is, you just have to decide that what you have to say isn’t as boring as you think it is. So that’s what I’m going to do. This is a post that I’ve been planning to write ever since before I left Newfoundland but for some reason I can’t explain it hasn’t happened yet. But it’s happening today!

 

Things I miss about Newfoundland

  1. The wind – it’s always surrounding you, pushing you back, shoving you forward, making your hair stick in the lip-gloss that you so foolishly thought to wear that night. It creates noise in the emptiest of spaces and a friend which is either bothering or comforting depending on the situation. Sure, with fall there’s quite a lot of wind in Sweden too, but it’s not the same.
  2. The people – I think everyone who has met Newfoundlanders can agree on that they stand apart with a nationality all of their own. Friendly people, crazy people, artistic people, often all three in one. They can be the most down to earth and sarcastic hard-working old men you know, of the most dreamy and hipster young girls. Whatever else, Newfoundlanders care. Sometimes with the frustrating nosiness of a Jane Austen damsel, sometimes with the angry passion of someone way too drunk on Lambs, but they do care. And if they don’t, they make damn sure you understand how much they don’t care about caring. And my friends, I don’t even have words to express how much I miss them.
  3. The junk-food – Oh Ziggy’s. Oh A&W. Oh Dairy Queen and Wendy’s. Swede’s might have a lot of food-culture and a lot of variation but we have not perfected the deep-fried greasiness that is at the heart and soul of a proper Newfie stogging-place. So in the middle of the night in Stockholm, drunk as a kite and dying for a dirty scoff, where do you go? That question has yet to find a good answer.
  4. My job – The difference between the job I – sort of – have right now and the job I had at Second Cup is miles apart. I loved almost everyone I worked with, here they’re a strange mix of crazy, disinterested or just downright annoying. I felt pride in what I did there, here I feel ashamed almost every time I serve a guest anything off the menu. I enjoyed the atmosphere created by the freshly ground coffee and soft jazz, here I want to tear my ears off when the same hit-cd plays for the 10th time over and the stench of something I’ve yet to locate in the kitchen slaps me in the face. Until I find another job I can not possibly be content to leave Second Cup behind :/
  5. The side-walks – yes, I know, I’m insane. When have I ever complained as much about the grey pathways of a city as when I lived in St. John’s? Yet the side-walks here are uneventful and even, without that constant risk of hooking your heel in a crack or stumbling on a piece of gravel the size of your head. (And I know that’s not gravel. You don’t have to point that out. But in St. John’s, that is gravel.) Where’s the life-and-death adventure of taking a stroll now?
Things I do not miss about Newfoundland
  1. Most of the weather – A lot of the time except for on some rare summer days, the St. John’s weather was crap. The wind which I loved so much would combine itself with a heavy downpour or smudgy fog or why not that wonderful sleet or rain-mixed snow? And then it would proceed to confuse us for the rest of the day, or weeks, with its unpredictability.
  2. The cheese – Except for on a poutine, most of the cheese was kind of like plastic and very expensive. What sane person would pay for a piece of expensive plastic on their bread? I never said I was sane.
  3. George Street on a weekend – Don’t get me wrong. The Levee at 345 is really awesome, a tiny late-night show at CBTG’s is great, but George Street on a Saturday around 11pm? Hates it. The population of the street around this time is either failed attempts at hipster-guys, i-love-hockey-so-much-i-will-wear-it-all-over-my-body guys, these-jeans-will-render-me-barren guys or the endless stream of fake blondes in the little black dress which barely covers their private parts on the wobbly heels. (The only kind of female who can get attracted to above mentioned boys, and even they need a solid doze of some disgusting alcohol in them before this happens.)
  4. Sears – Aaauuuuuugggghhhhh!!!!! I have to admit, and I am very embarrassed to do so, that even I have every once in a while in a moment of weakness, bought something at Sears. But just passing through it you get harassed by loud shirts, even louder over-sized underwear, angry old women and furious little children, all of which appear very threatening and like their deepest wish is to cause you bodily harm. Let us not mention Dollorama. This might be even worse actually.
Having been away for quite some time, it’s easier to look back and see what you actually miss and what you just thought you missed until you received the blessing of being absent from it for a while. What do you miss/hate the most about the place you live/have lived when you are gone?
7 thoughts on “A little speck of dirt west of here

  1. Firstly: Of course you’re not sane! We wouldn’t love you quite as much if you were. “Norms” are dull, and I can’t get the hang of how you’re supposed to talk to them (through a motorcycle helmet… right?).
    Secondly: I’m sorry. I love all my fellow humans, no matter where they live… but countries outside Europe just CAN’T MAKE CHEESE! I don’t know why, they just can’t.
    Thirdly: I miss the hills of Yorkshire and Derbyshire… but only in the summer. In the winter, high walled countryside just makes you feel boxed in, under the low, dark sky. The flatlands of Lincolnshire are beautiful in the winter. When the sky is low, you just need breathing room, and it might be plain to some, but field after field of flatland is gorgeous to look at when it’s covered in frost and mist.
    I DO NOT miss Yorkshire/Derbyshire weather. Lincolnshire might only be 50-60 miles to the East, but the difference in the weather is remarkable for that short distance. It stays warm well into September over here.
    I love living miles outside of town for the peace and quiet. But you can’t get a pizza in the middle of the night, and, when you have no money for transport, you feel lonely and cut off from the rest of the world… also the internet connection speed out here is a joke! At times like these I crave the city.

    Finally: BLOG MORE!! Or I will be forced to darken the skies with your ashes!

    (But I still love ya… you crazy Swede)

    1. Yes, it’s through a motorcycle helmet, see, you’ve got these things under control.
      I think we couldn’t agree more on the cheese thing ^^
      I miss the hills of Devon so I understand what you mean there, the red earth, the oaks and the little winding roads really felt like home to me for a while 🙂
      And the whole country vs. city dilemma is tricky. I like where I live right now because it’s a 6 minute walk away from the subway, grocery-store and corner-stores but also just 10 minutes from the ocean and I could basically jump out of my bedroom-window and land in the forest.
      You blog more :/ 😀

      1. Aren’t you 10 minutes from the ocean pretty much anywhere in Sweden? Especially around Stockholm; It’s like a city built on stepping stones. I’d be interested to know just what percentage of Sweden is water. I’ve never been to Stockholm, but it seems like an interesting place. Lincoln is one of the oldest cities in England, and it has a castle, but so what… castles are almost as common as cars over here.

  2. Oh, Amki darling this warmed my heart! St. John’s misses you <333 It is so sad that you're so far away from us and can't even get a good poutine to cheer you. Breaks my heart.

    The only other place I've ever lived is Stephenville. I miss the ghost town kinda vibe it has at about 5am, having a beach right down the street from my house, my puppies, family (sometimes), fishing, being able to smoke in my room, wandering around aimlessly at night with good friends (not that I can't do that here, but its different home… lots more history and memories hovering about), Dominoes and Danny's Bakery. Things I don't miss? Everything else. Haha.

    Though I do sometimes get very homesick. I imagine you do too. Your second home is stuck in a state of perma-Amkisick.

    1. Yes, I do get very homesick at times, though I never thought I would, after all when you are in St. John’s it doesn’t feel like there’s a lot of things to miss. But then it turns out there are :p I’m going to be all right though, this place will feel infinitely more like home once I has kittens!!!!!

  3. Things St. John’s misses about Amki:

    1. Her warm smiles.
    2. Her enormous heart (overflowing with love for everything from leaves on trees to complex people).
    3. Her hair – sidenote: I MISS PLAYING WITH YOUR HAIR SO MUCH.
    4. Her no bullshit mad awesome confrontation skills.
    5. Her baking.
    6. Her silly drunk rambles.
    7. Her welcomed advice.
    8. Her chats.
    9. Her place at girls’ nights.
    10. Her calming and optimistic presence.

    I could keep going… needless to say, I think about you every single day. I wish you were here. I miss you. Like a tobaccoless smoker misses nicotine.

    You best have sent the book! Did you die? ♥

    P.S. EMAIL ME.

Leave a Reply

