Oh the madness!

This past week or so has been absolute madness. Between studying for my finals (which are all done, since yesterday, thank goodness!), crafting (there may or may not be hand-made Christmas-cards coming the way of certain readers of mine *wink wink*), Christmas-shopping, cooking, baking, cleaning, putting the finishing touches on my bedroom and trying to follow a new work-out regime… there has been little time for Β more basic things, like eating, sleeping, breathing and blogging. “Come now, you don’t blog nearly as much as you do those other things!” you might say. But don’t be too sure.

Christmas is a time of great excitement for me. As you might have noticed, I changed a few things on my blog to make it more Christmassy. Though there isn’t a single decoration up in the flat yet, I have great visions of lights, tinsel, garlands and flowers. (The flowers will undoubtedly have to be cancelled, because the kittens really enjoy eating plants, and lilies and suchlike that are the ultimate Christmas-flower tend to be a wee bit poisonous. Though maybe if they die they’d learn not to eat plants. Just kidding.)

It is also a time of watching the Christmas-specials of several shows I enjoy following; How I Met Your Mother, The Office and (please forgive me) Glee. The latter has managed to make the worst Christmas-special I think I’ve seen so far. I’m not sure how black and white, Star Wars references, old and mostly bad Christmas-hits performed poorly and some sort of cheesy moral message of goodness and giving is supposed to come out nicely, but they didn’t manage to do it here.

Mostly it’s a time for over-eating clementines. I am addicted to these small, orange fruits. I have been for as long as I can remember. I have very vivid memories of going to my grandmother’s for Christmas, dashing to see who’d get first to the giant leather swivel-armchair – which we’d then proceed to spin around and around in till we got sick – eating all of the forbidden candy – our parents were not believers in letting your children eat conventional, regular candy – and above all, the giant bowl of clementines on the coffee-table, which I got to have as many of as I liked.Β¨

I see this happening, very soon.

I usually never get hit by the Christmas-stress. Yet this year for some reason, I feel like there’s not enough time left in the world for all the things I want to get done. It’s the 16th already. It’s madness. 2012 is just around the corner, with all its doomsday prophecies and – for me – bright outlook, seeing as how it’s the year of the Dragon, my sign in the Chinese horoscope. The chances of me getting into university this spring are pretty slim and hanging by a thread, depending on the authorities carrying their weight and getting stuff done for me in time (and when have they ever been known to do that???). Yet I do not feel disheartened. When there’s something in your life that you can’t do, thousands of opportunities for other things that you can do open up, things you might not even have thought of before.

How are you planning on spending your Christmas? Are you as stressed out as I am? As excited? Do you still believe in Santa Claus?

 

6 thoughts on “Oh the madness!

  1. Saw you post on another blog I follow and wanted to look at your blog, I like the name! I was born & raised in Canada (Alberta), now living in the USA.

    As for Christmas, we will pack up and go to grandparent’s house, about 5 hours away. There are so many neat holiday projects on the web, I’ve got 3 started but have no idea if they will actually get done… here’s hoping the stress of it all doesn’t get in the way.

    I still believe in Santa, for the kids anyways I’m trying to pass on the mystery and traditions of Santa.

    Happy Holidays!

    1. Well I believe in Santa too, only I think he’ll only come to the houses of believers and say screw the non-believers πŸ™‚ I think whatever we decide to take for the truth will be the truth!

      I’m going to go check out your blog now! Merry Christmas!

  2. I believe in santa claus, well mostly the idea or purpose behind it. I will admit my christmas season feels very rushed and interrupted but for different reasons other than finals. I hope you manage to have at least a little fun this break.

    What happens in the year of the dreagon? DOes this have some correlation to the mayans in any way?

    1. Nope, the year of the Dragon thing is the Chinese horoscope, and besides it happening to be the same year as the big cycle of the Mayan calendar ends, they don’t correlate in any way. Dragon years are supposed to be auspicious, crazy roller-coasters of madness, and you never know what you get, but you usually get something strange and unexpected. My Christmas is finally starting to slow down, and I like the feeling. Just a bit more snow and I’ll be happy πŸ™‚

      I’m glad you post as often as you do, you’re a brilliant blogger πŸ™‚ Have a great Christmas!

      1. Well as you can tell I can’t draw for the life of me either but sometimes I need to show people roughly what’s going through my head, and in these few cases, a picture does say more than a thousand words πŸ™‚ Also, if you want to see someone who does KICK-ASS web-comics/self-related drawings, here is one of my very favourite blogs around! http://www.hyperboleandahalf.blogspot.com/
        (Though I guess you must already know about her.) But if you don’t, consider that a Christmas-gift, from me to you πŸ™‚ Keep blogging!

Leave a Reply

